Research Centers and Divisions

CIRES is organized into research divisions that reflect the disciplines. This management structure is suited for handling personnel activities including annual evaluation and promotion. Each CIRES employee is identified with a particular division.

CIRES has four research centers that represent historical and current thrusts with a major critical mass of research activities. In many cases the research centers are a consequence of block funding from a particular agency for a particular activity, as for example the National Snow and Ice Data Center. In other cases, the centers are a means of providing an identity to a major focus of work within the Institute.