



Kenneth T. Whitby Award

American Association for Aerosol Research



The award honors Kenneth T. Whitby, known for his contributions to aerosol measurement, the study of aerosol properties and behavior, and the nature of atmospheric aerosols.

The Kenneth T. Whitby Award "recognizes outstanding technical contributions aerosol science and technology by a young scientist. The purpose of the award is to encourage continued work in the field and ongoing support of such endeavors".

The recipient was nominated by

- Paul J. Ziemann
- Seconded by
 - Hugh Coe
 - U. Baltensperger
 - Spyros Pandis





2008 Recipient of the Kenneth T. Whitby Award

Jose L. Jimenez, Ph.D. University of Colorado



Professor Jimenez has made significant fundamental and applied contributions to aerosol science beginning with his graduate research at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (PhD-Mechanical Engineering, 1999), Postdoctoral appointments at Aerodyne Research/MIT, California Institute of Technology and continuing at his current home institution.

-"...he is widely recognized as one of the premiere aerosol scientists in the world and as a leader in Aerosol Mass Spectrometer analysis."

-"...development of a new method for quantifying the contributions of primary and secondary sources to atmospheric organic aerosol composition." -Over 65 peer reviewed papers (28 Highly Cited, 2 Most Cited in *Environmental Science and Technology*)