Data Puzzles Virtual Teaching Workshop - The Tipping Point

Data Puzzles Virtual Teaching Workshop - The Tipping Point

Register Here

Join us on Tuesday, June 20th from 8 am - 12 pm PT, 9 am - 1 pm MT, 10 am - 2 pm CT, 11 pm - 3 pm ET as developer Jon Griffith describes the latest Data Puzzle, "The Tipping Point", a 2-day MS/HS resource in which students analyze ecological data to explain how rising temperatures are affecting the hearty tundra plant, moss campion, and consider what that might mean for the rest of the ecosystem.

About Data Puzzles

Inspired by our friends at Data Nuggets, Data Puzzles combine classroom-friendly scientific datasets with the research-backed pedagogical practices of Ambitious Science Teaching to give your students the ultimate inquiry-based learning experience.

The Tipping Point overview

For more than two decades, ecologists Bill Morris, Megan DeMarche, and Dan Doak have been visiting field sites across North America to monitor the vital rates (survival, growth, and reproduction) of a hearty tundra plant, moss campion, and compare them to observed changes in the plants’ environments (e.g., temperature). In this Data Puzzle, students engage with an interactive reading before analyzing and interpreting authentic datasets to discover that rising temperatures increase the reproductive success of moss campion up to a certain point, the tipping point, beyond which the plant's reproductive rates dramatically decline! The results of this study inspire many other interesting questions, What does this mean for the rest of the tundra ecosystem? And what other climate "tipping points" should we be aware of?

Details:

WHO: 7-12 science teachers

WHAT: Webinar focused on the latest Data Puzzle resource, "The Tipping Point"

WHEN: Tuesday, June 20th from 8 am - 12 am PT, 9 am - 1 pm MT, 10 am - 2 pm CT, 11 am - 3 pm ET

WHY: Engage with the Data Puzzle framework in the context of contemporary ecological research!

HOW: Register for the virtual teacher workshop to receive an invitation and Zoom link for the event.

CU Boulder Mountain Research: Silene acualis

CU Boulder student Grace Kendziorski studies the mountain plant commonly known as moss campion to learn about the effects of climate change.

Illustration of two people high-fiving in a work environment

Get involved and stay up-to-date with CIRES CEEE.

CEEE Contact

ceee@colorado.edu
Phone: 303-492-5670
Fax: 303-735-3644

CEEE Mail

CIRES Center for Education, Engagement, and Evaluation
University of Colorado Boulder
488 UCB
Boulder, CO 80309-0449

CEEE Office Hours

8:00 am to 5:00 pm -- fall and spring semesters 

CEEE Social Media