Ice Birds

Polar Science Early Career Community Office (PSECCO)

Polar Science Early Career Community Office (PSECCO)

The Polar Science Early Career Community Office (PSECCO) is a community-building and community-support organization for polar early career scientists, funded by National Science Foundation Office of Polar Programs, Award #2135176.


Our mission is to empower and elevate early career scientists in the polar sciences, support a vibrant community, provide opportunities and resources, offer skill trainings and work together towards a more just, inclusive, diverse, equitable and accessible polar science environment. 

Key PSECCO Objectives 

  1. Build connections between early career researchers across disciplines, volunteer organizations, and with existing polar networks  

  1. Provide practical support for the early career scientists who are providing leadership to the community, and as leaders in diversity and inclusion  

  1. Support the career development of polar scientists through workshops, training, and travel funds, and community-building  

  1. Provide seed funding for meaningful initiatives that enhance belonging, accessibility, justice, equity, diversity and inclusion (BAJEDI) in the polar sciences through microgrants and fellowships 

PSECCO resources and events are open to everyone, regardless of location, career stage, or discipline. We support and connect those who are committed to advancing early career polar science. However, due to funding restrictions from the US National Science Foundation, PSECCO funding is only available to US-based individuals. PSECCO can provide funding to all US citizens and non-citizens with a US Visa that allows the acceptance of funds from CU Boulder. 

Illustration of two people high-fiving in a work environment

Get involved and stay up-to-date with CIRES CEEE.

CEEE Contact
Phone: 303-492-5670
Fax: 303-735-3644


CIRES Center for Education, Engagement and Evaluation
University of Colorado Boulder
488 UCB
Boulder, CO 80309-0449

CEEE Office Hours

8:00 am to 5:00 pm MT -- fall and spring semesters